The Observer is a Student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame & Saint Mary's. Learn more about us.



Board of trustees re-elects chairman

Meghanne Downes | Tuesday, October 28, 2003

The Board of Trustees re-elected its chairman, extending his tenure to 2007, and named a new Fellow at its recent fall meeting.

Trustees originally elected Board Chairman Patrick McCartan in 2000, and he became an ex-oficio Fellow. McCartan, a senior partner at the Jones Day international law firm, joined the board in 1989.

“I appreciate the confidence and support of the Notre Dame board and I look forward to helping Notre Dame fulfill the promise of a great University,” McCartan said in a statement.

The University’s Fellows – six lay trustees and six members of the Indiana province of the Congregation of the Holy Cross who are also trustees – named Bishop Daniel Jenky as a new Fellow. The position became open after Father David Tyson replaced Father William Dorwart as provincial superior of the Indiana province. University spokesman Michael Garvey said this is one of the four Fellow positions that is determined ex-oficio; however, Tyson was already a Fellow prior to becoming the provincial superior and a Fellow position remained open.

The Fellows are responsible for electing the University’s Trustees and adopting and amdending board bylaws.

Jenky, the bishop of Peoria, Ill., graduated from Notre Dame in 1970. His previous positions at the University include rector of Dillon Hall, rector of the Basilica of the Sacred Heart and superior of the Holy Cross community.