The Observer is a Student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame & Saint Mary's. Learn more about us.



Senators appoint, elect new officers to posts

Andrew Thagard | Thursday, April 15, 2004

Senators approved student body president Adam Istvan’s nominations for Senate standing committee chairmen and elected members to various committees during their Wednesday meeting.

The Senate unanimously approved Istvan’s nominations for chairman of the Standing Committees on Gender Relations, Diversity, Academic Affairs, University Affairs and Residence Life.

Elizabeth Shappell, a freshman from Badin, was appointed to lead the Gender Relations Committee. Fisher junior Russell Morton will chair the Diversity Committee. Alumni sophomore Vijay Ramanan will serve the Academic Affairs Committee. Katie Boyle, a junior from Cavanaugh Hall, will lead the University Affairs Committee. Sarah Bates, a Pasquerilla West junior, will chair the Residence Life Committee.

“We’re really going to go far with this group of people,” Istvan said.

Istvan chose not to designate an outside nomination for the Oversight Committee.

“We left Oversight out so the Senate could elect their own chairman because that committee was really in tune to the Senate working within itself,” he said.

Senators also elected representatives from within the Senate to serve as liaisons for the Judicial Council and Faculty Senate and representatives for the Financial Management Board, Campus Life Council, Council of Representatives and the Advisory Committee on Academic and Student Life.

Liz Kozlow, a freshman from Pasquerilla West, was unanimously elected the Judicial Council Liaison and Chris Harris, a freshman from Carroll, and Jeff Mullin, a sophomore from Stanford, were unanimously elected to serve on the Financial Management Board. All three ran unopposed.

The Senate elected Cavanaugh senator Jordan Bongiovanni and Siegfried senator James Leito to serve on the Campus Life Council. O’Neill senator Alex French was elected as the alternate member.

“Thank you very much [for electing me to] CLC,” Bongiovanni said. “I’ll work really hard.”

Bongiovanni, Sujal Pandya, senator for Fisher, Josh Pasquesi, senator for Morrissey and Dihan Fernando, the off-campus senator, were elected to the Council of Representatives. Zahm Hall senator Mike McGinley, was elected as the alternate.

Pasquerilla East senator Casey Stanton was elected to serve on the Advisory Committee on Academic and Student Life.

Welsh Family senator Steph Pelligra will serve as the liaison to the Faculty Senate.

In other Senate news:

u Senators will resume the debate on the reorganization of programming within student government during their next meeting.