The Observer is a Student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame & Saint Mary's. Learn more about us.



Appointees approved for leadership roles

Sonia Rao | Wednesday, March 28, 2007

Several student government appointees were approved for the 2007-08 term during the final meeting of 2006-07 Council of Representatives (COR) members Tuesday.

Michelle Byrne, Phil Ross, Ashley Weiss, Christopher Tillett, Eva Binda, Sheena Plamoottil, Michelle Zaldana and Emily Cooperstein were all approved to assume leadership roles of various student government organizations that are represented within COR. Each was presented to COR members along with a letter of recommendation.

Junior class president-elect Bob Reish presented Michelle Byrne as the class of 2009 secretary. Byrne takes the position, which is one of four positions on the class voting ticket, as secretary-elect Callie Pogge “will be unable to fulfill her duties because of other interests within Notre Dame student government,” Reish said.

Reish said Byrne is “qualified, dedicated and hardworking,” and he noted she has had various leadership roles including those as Cavanaugh’s Hall representative, spiritual committee chair and Cavanaugh Hall president.

Current Student Union Board (SUB) manager Patrick Vassel presented junior Phil Ross as his nominee to continue leading SUB next year.

“Phil is far and away the best candidate for the position,” Vassel wrote in his letter of recommendation. “He has demonstrated tremendous time-management skills as well as innovative creativity and constant professionalism. His past leadership experiences exemplify the combination of hard work and fun that are central to the mission of SUB.”

Current Judicial Council president Liz Kozlow nominated junior Ashley Weiss as her successor.

“Over the past year, she showed enthusiasm and dedication for Student Government by working as the Chair of the Student Senate Committee on Gender Issues where she oversaw and coordinated both the Eating Disorders Conference and Sexual Assault Awareness week,” Kozlow wrote.

Kozlow also noted that Weiss ran for the elected position of student body vice president earlier in the year, which would serve as valuable background.

Kadeja Gaines, chairwoman of the Financial Management Board, announced her nomination of freshmen Christopher Tillet and Eva Binda to the Assistant Student Union Treasurer positions. Gaines said she interviewed eight people for the position and Tillet and Binda were the most qualified.

Binda is a news writer for The Observer.

Student body president-elect Liz Brown presented her nominations of Sheena Plamoottil, Michelle Zaldana and Emily Cooperstein as next year’s chief executive assistant, student body secretary and academic delegate, respectively.

All three have extensive background in student government and have excelled in leadership positions, Brown said.

In other COR news:

u Members approved a COR Collaboration Fund Appeal for the 30th BCAC Fashion show, sponsored by Walsh Hall, Freshman Class Council and the Office of Admissions. The group requested $757.79 in order to provide food, raffle supplies, copy expenses and the venue.