The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Students uphold Notre Dame mission

Faculty and staff | Monday, April 12, 2010

As members of the faculty and staff at Notre Dame, we take seriously the University’s mission statement, which says, “The University seeks to cultivate in its students not only an appreciation for the great achievements of human beings, but also a disciplined sensibility to the poverty, injustice and oppression that burden the lives of so many. The aim is to create a sense of human solidarity and concern for the common good that will bear fruit as learning becomes service to justice.”

We see it as our responsibility to help students learn about the world in which they live and to encourage them to make an impact on that world, so that “learning becomes service to justice.”

Some Notre Dame students recently passed out information on campus regarding what they believe are practices by the HEI Corporation that result in poverty, injustice and oppression. Their actions were peaceful and not disruptive, yet their informational leaflets were confiscated by Notre Dame security police and they are now being subject to disciplinary action by ResLife.

We believe that these students were acting in the best traditions of Notre Dame and living up to the ideals expressed in its mission statement. We do not think that they should be disciplined by the University for doing so. We call upon Father Jenkins to cancel these disciplinary actions.


Heidi Ardizzone

Lance Askildson

Kevin Barry

Mary Beckman

Gail Bederman

Mary Burgess

Annie Coleman

Brian Collier

Mary Rose D’Angelo

Jarett T. DeAngelis

Jean Dibble

E. Jane Doering

Margaret Doody

Julia Douthwaite

Kevin Dreyer

John Duffy

Stephen Fallon

Barbara Fick

Robert Fishman

Judy Fox

Laura Fuderer

Agustin Fuentes

Jill Godmilow

Dan Graff

Stuart Greene

David Hachen

Susan Harris

Peter Holland

Coleen Hoover

Carlos Jerez-Farran

Robert L. Jones, Jr.

Kwan Kim

Janet Kourany

Stephen Lancaster

Cecilia Lucero

Nicole MacLaughlin

Joanne Mack

Karen Manier

Sara L. Maurer

Jim McKenna

Connie Mick

John Monczunski

Darcia Narvaez

Felicia O’Brien

Sean O’Brien

Jessica Payne

Catherine Perry

Richard Pierce

Dianne Pinderhughes

AnnMarie R. Power

Clark Power

Ava Preacher

Anita Rees

Robin Rhodes

Jaime Ros

David Ruccio

Amy Shirk

Valerie Sayers

Sharon Schierling

Kristin Shrader-Frechette

Donald Sniegowski

John Sitter

Jackie Smith

Jim Sterba

Rachel Tomas Morgan

Steve Tomasula

Barbara Turpin

Peter Walshe

Andy Weigert

John Welle

Michelle Wirth

Marty Wolfson

faculty and staff

April 11