The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Faculty for LGTBQ

| Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Editor’s Note: To view the complete list of 113 signatures, please visit The
Observer’s website at ndsmcobserver.com

We are writing to express our support for the 4-to-5 movement and for the members of the LGBTQ community at the University of Notre Dame. We value the gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and questioning members of our community exactly as we do all those who are part of the Notre Dame family. As faculty and staff, we affirm that our offices and classrooms will be safe and open spaces, where anti-GLBTQ discrimination, harassment or violence will not be tolerated.
We thank the graduating students and others who have worked so hard to bring LGBTQ concerns to the forefront. Their efforts have made and will continue to make a difference. We also applaud the recent efforts of Notre Dame to create a more welcoming and safe environment for all. We encourage the University to continue its progress by joining with the City of South Bend, our sister college St. Mary’s and other Catholic colleges and institutions across the country to make the protection, recognition, and equal treatment of the GLBTQ members of our family an official part of University policy. We look forward to the day when the Spirit of Inclusion describes not just an aspiration of some, but the everyday experience of all of us who are Notre Dame.

Richard Williams
Department of Sociology
May 1

Thomas F. Anderson, Romance Languages and Literatures
Francisco Aragón, Institute for Latino Studies
Julie Arnott, Hesburgh Libraries
Charles Barber, Art, Art History & Design
Zygmunt Baranski, Romance Languages and Literatures
Katrina Barron, Mathematics
Joseph Bauer, Law School
Christine Becker, Film, Television, & Theatre
Mary Beckman, Center for Social Concerns
Tracy Bergstrom, Hesburgh Libraries
Patricia Blanchette, Philosophy
Susan Blum, Anthropology
Tatiana Botero, Romance Languages and Literatures
Kevin Burke, IEI
Joseph Buttigieg, English
Doug Cassel, Law School
Oscar Celador-Angón, Institute for Latino Studies
Annie G. Coleman, American Studies
Robert Coleman, Art, Art History and Design
Jessica L. Collett, Sociology
Brian S Collier, IEI
Jim Collins, Film, Television, and Theatre
Philippe Collon, Physics
Suzanne M. Coshow, Management
Fred Dallmayr, Political Science and Philosophy
Mary Rose D’Angelo, Theology
Michael Detlefsen, Philosophy
Jean A. Dibble, Art, Art History & Design
Bernard Doering, Romance Languages & Literature
E. Jane Doering, Teachers as Scholars Program @ NDU
Margaret Doody, English
Erika Doss, American Studies
Kevin Dreyer, Film, Television, and Theatre
Liz Dube, Hesburgh Libraries
John Duffy, English
Kathleen Eberhard, Psychology
Stephen M Fallon, PLS and English
Barbara J. Fick, Law School
Deb Fox, Law Library
Douglas A. Franson, Institute for Latino Studies
Stephen Fredman, English
Agustín Fuentes, Anthropology
Benedict Giamo, American Studies
Jill Godmilow, Emerita, Film, Television & Theatre
Robert Goulding, PLS & History and Philosophy of Science
Daniel A. Graff, History
Karen Graubart, History
Stuart Greene, English
Tracy Grimm, Institute for Latino Studies
Eugene Halton, Sociology
Stephen Hayes, Hesburgh Libraries
Richard Herbst, Law School
Peter Holland, Film, Television & Theatre
Raúl Jara, Institute for Latino Studies
Carlos A Jauregui, Romance Languages and Literatures
Lionel M. Jensen, East Asian Languages and Culture
Carlos Jerez-Farran, Romance Languages
Felicia Johnson O’Brien, Center for Social Concerns
Asher Kaufman, History and Peace Studies
Janet Kourany, Philosophy
Thomas Kselman, History
Greg Kucich, English
Stephen Lancaster, Music
Pat Lawton, Hesburgh Libraries
Anne Leone, Romance Languages
Omar Lizardo, Sociology
Neil Lobo, Biology
Cecilia Lucero, Class of 1984
Joanne Mack, Anthropology and the Snite Museum of Art
Julia Marvin, Program of Liberal Studies
James J. McKenna, Anthropology
Maria McKenna, Africana Studies
Mark P. McKenna, Law School
Sarah McKibben, Irish Language and Literature
Rory McVeigh, Sociology
Margaret Meserve, History
Christian Moevs, Romance languages
Marisel Moreno, Romance Languages and Literatures
Sean O’Brien, Law School
Sean T. O’Brien, Irish Studies
Mary Ellen O’Connell, Law and Kroc Institute
William O’Rourke, English
Jennifer Parker, Architecture Library
Jessica Payne, Psychology
Catherine Perry, Romance Languages and Literatures
Dianne Pinderhughes, Africana Studies & Political Science
Ann Marie R. Power, Sociology
Ava Preacher, Office for Undergraduate Studies in Arts and Letters
Clark Power, Program of Liberal Studies
Gretchen Reydams-Schils, Program of Liberal Studies
Robin Rhodes, Art, Art History & Design
Charles Rosenberg, Art, Art History and Design
Alberta Ross, Radiation Laboratory Emerita
David F. Ruccio, Economics
Valerie Sayers, English
Catherine Schlegel, Classics
Susan Sharpe, Law School and Center for Social Concerns
Amy Shirk, Law Library
Kristin Shrader-Frechette, Philosophy and Biological Sciences
Anne Simons, Psychology
John Sitter, English
Cheri Smith, Hesburgh Libraries
James Sterba, Philosophy
Marsha Stevenson, Hesburgh Libraries
Julia Adeney Thomas, History
Maria Tomasula, Art, Art History & Design
Steve Tomasula, English
Julianne C. Turner, Psychology
Anre Venter- Psychology
Christine Venter, Law School
Laura Walls, English
Robert Walls, American Studies & Anthropology
Henry Weinfield, Program of Liberal Studies
John P. Welle, Romance Languages and Literatures
Matthew Wilkens, English
Richard Williams, Sociology
Michelle Wirth, Psychology
Pamela Robertson Wojcik, Film, Television & Theatre
Marty Wolfson, Economics
Joseph Rosenberg, Program of Liberal Studies