The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Team MVP Joe Schmidt headlines Notre Dame award winners

| Friday, December 12, 2014

Irish senior linebacker Joe Schmidt received Notre Dame’s MVP award during Friday’s annual team banquet at the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center on campus.

20141027, vs FSU, Schmidt, Zach LlorensZACHARY LLORENS | The Observer
Schmidt racked up 65 tackles — which led the team — before he suffered a season-ending ankle injury against Navy on Nov. 1. The Irish players voted on Notre Dame’s team awards.


Other award winners:

  • Offensive Player of the Year: sophomore receiver Will Fuller
  • Defensive Player of the Year: sophomore linebacker Jaylon Smith
  • Nick Pietrosante Award (given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and pride of the late Irish fullback): Cam McDaniel
  • Lineman of the Year: junior defensive lineman Sheldon Day
  • Guardian of the Year: junior left tackle Ronnie Stanley
  • Next Man In Award: graduate student defensive lineman Justin Utupo
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year Award: sophomore receiver Torii Hunter Jr.
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year Award: freshman safety Drue Tranquill
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: junior receiver C.J. Prosise
  • Rockne Student-Athlete Award: sophomore receiver Corey Robinson
  • Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: graduate student running back Tyler Plantz
  • Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: sophomore linebacker Austin Larkin
  • Irish Around the Bend Award: senior kicker/punter Kyle Brindza
  • Father Lange Iron Cross Award: graduate student offensive lineman Christian Lombard
  • Play of the Year: senior tight end Ben Koyack’s game-winning TD grab against Stanford
Tags: , , ,

About Mike Monaco

Senior Sports Writer Mike Monaco is a senior majoring in Film, Television and Theatre with a minor in Journalism, Ethics, and Democracy as well as Business Economics. The O’Neill Hall native hails from the Boston area and is an aspiring play-by-play broadcaster.

Contact Mike