The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



New senators approve staff

| Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Student body president Bryan Ricketts and vice president Nidia Ruelas were sworn into office at Wednesday night’s student senate meeting. In their oath, they swore to uphold the constitution of the undergraduate student body.

The new dorm senators were also sworn in Wednesday night

“I am really hopeful and excited for the conversations to come in Senate,” student body vice president Nidia Ruelas, a junior, said. “We really have a unique and attentive group of senators. We also have appointed a wonderful group of department directors that I have complete faith will do great work.”

The new senators for the 2014-2015 academic year then approved the following individuals in their incoming student government positions:

Chief of Staff: Dan Sehlhorst

Parliamentarian: Sara Dugan

Secretary: Sibonay Shewit

Executive Controller: Kendall Marthaler

Director of Communications: Madi King

Athletics Representative: Sam Gerstemeier

Diversity Council Representative: Ray’Von Jones

Campus Ministry Representative: Ethan Muehlstein

First Undergraduate Experience in Leadership (FUEL) Directors: Michael Finan and Madi Purrenhage

Director of the Department of Academic Affairs: Bridget Rickard

Director of the Department of Campus Technology: Michael McRoskey

Director of the Department of Community Relations: Rohan Andresen

Director of the Department of Constituent Services: John Kill

Director of the Department of Gender Issues: Danny Funaro

Director of the Department of Health & Wellness: Rohit Fonseca

Director of the Department of Internal Affairs: Rebecca Blais

Director of the Department of National Engagement and Outreach: Julia Zanotelli

Director of the Department of Residence Life: Casey Skevington

Director of the Department of Social Concerns: Daniela Narimatsu

Director of the Department of University Affairs: Patrick Murday

“It was an honor to get to introduce each of our directors to senate,” student body president Bryan Ricketts, a junior, said. “They’re all amazing people, the ones who we knew were going to be stellar for their position the minute they left their interviews. I’m looking forward to what we all can accomplish together in service to the student body.”

The title of emeritus was also granted to 2013-2014 student body president Lauren Vidal and vice president Matthew Devine, both seniors, and chief of staff Shannon Montague, a junior.


Tags: , ,

About Megan Valley

Megan Valley was Assistant Managing Editor for The Observer. She majored in English and the Program of Liberal Studies and hailed from Flushing, Michigan.

Contact Megan