The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Irish players named to preseason watch lists

| Tuesday, July 7, 2015

With the start of college football season less than two months away, awards committees have begun to name preseason candidates for 2015 honors.

Several Notre Dame standouts are featured on these lists and appear below, along with former Irish players who have won these awards.


2015 watch list selections:

Maxwell Award (player of the year): Jr. QB Malik Zaire

Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Sr. DL Sheldon Day; Sr. CB KeiVarae Russell; Jr. LB Jaylon Smith

Rimington Trophy (best center): Graduate student C Nick Martin

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player): Graduate student LB Joe Schmidt; Day; Russell; Smith

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman): Sr. OL Ronnie Stanley; Day; Martin

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Jr. S Max Redfield

Butkus Award (best linebacker): So. LB Nyles Morgan; Smith

Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker): Jr. OL Steve Elmer; Sr. DL Jarron Jones; Day; Martin; Schmidt; Smith; Stanley

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver): Jr. WR Will Fuller

Wuerffel Trophy (community service): Jr. WR Corey Robinson; Schmidt

Doak Walker Award (best running back): Jr. RB Tarean Folston

Walter Camp Award (player of the year): Fuller, Zaire


Previous Notre Dame winners:

Maxwell Award: Manti Te’o (2012); Brady Quinn (2006); Ross Browner (1977); Jim Lynch (1966); Johnny Lattner (1952, 1953); Leon Hart (1949)

Bednarik Award: Manti Te’o (2012)

Mackey Award: Tyler Eifert (2012)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Manti Te’o (2012)

Outland Trophy: Ross Browner (1976); Bill Fischer (1948); George Connor (1946)

Butkus Award: Manti Te’o (2012)

Lombardi Award: Manti Te’o (2012); Aaron Taylor (1993); Chris Zorich (1990); Ross Browner (1977); Walt Patulski (1971)

Biletnikoff Award: Golden Tate (2009)

Walter Camp Award: Manti Te’o (2012); Raghib Ismail (1990); Tim Brown (1987); Ken MacAfee (1977)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Observer Sports Staff

Contact Observer