The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Student senate votes on annual awards

| Thursday, March 9, 2017

Notre Dame student senate convened Wednesday evening to vote on two resolutions, as well as voting on the nominees for the Frank O’Malley Teaching Award, the Irish Clover Award and the Michael J. Palumbo Award. Additionally, senate approved nominations for Student Union Board (SUB) executive director and Judicial Council president.

Senate began with an informal discussion with representatives from Notre Dame’s office of General Counsel, Brian Guarraci and Matt Lahey, both Notre Dame graduates.

The Notre Dame General Counsel office is comprised of only eight lawyers, according to Guarraci. The office is split into three groups — employment, litigation and student affairs, and research and marshal property — each of which deals with different issues at the university, Guarraci said.

One of the toughest concerns the office deals with are related to Title IX, Lahey said.

“I would encourage all of you to be as involved as you can. Prevention is obviously the key,” Lahey said. “Notre Dame is on the forefront of efforts across the country amongst colleges and universities.”

Following the discussion, quorum was established, and senate discussed and approved several resolutions.

Resolution SS1617-31 amended the Student Union Constitution by adding a subsection stating that if a member of the Hall of the Year Board is unable to attend one presentation by a dorm, he or she will be unable to evaluate any hall presentations. In the event of a tie for Hall of the Year, the Hall Presidents Council co-chairs will decide the winner.

Resolution SS1617-32 amended the Student Union Constitution to establish the department of constitutional procedure. The Parliamentarian will act as the director of the department of constitutional procedure ex-officio.

Senate voted on the 20 nominees for the Frank O’Malley Teaching Awards, ultimately choosing Dr. Peter Bui, an assistant professional specialist in computer science and engineering, as the winner of the award.

Additionally, senate voted on nominees for the Irish Clover Award, an award given to two Notre Dame students who have demonstrated exemplary service to the Notre Dame Student Union. Senior Louis Bertolotti, current SUB executive director, and senior Jessica Pedroza, co-president of the 1st Generation Club, won the award.

Student Union Ethics Commission nominated senior Caitlin Geary for the Michael J. Palumbo Award, given to a student who has shown dedication in his or her service to the Student Union. Senate unanimously approved the nomination.

Additionally, senate unanimously approved the nomination for SUB executive director, junior Jackson Herrfeldt, and the nomination for Judicial Council president, junior Matt Ross.

Tags: , , , ,

About Marie Fazio

Contact Marie