The Observer is a student-run, daily print & online newspaper serving Notre Dame, Saint Mary's & Holy Cross. Learn about us.



Irish finish strong in final Dual Meet against UIC

| Thursday, February 3, 2022

 In a sweeping victory over UIC at Rolfs this past Saturday, the Irish completed their final dual meet of the season. Both the men’s and women’s teams had a strong showing against the Flames, with the women winning 15 out of the 16 events and the men coming away with wins in 13 out of 16 events. The final scores were 204-86 for the women and 173-96 for the men.

Madelyn Christman, Zachary Smith, and Luke Uttley were top performers this weekend, as they became familiar with the podium with three event wins each. There were several podium sweeps that afternoon from both the men and the women, leaving the Irish with a fulfilling victory as they prepare for their championship season. 

To recap, the Irish kicked off competition Saturday with a win in the Women’s 200 Medley Relay with Jess Geriane, Reese Lugbill, Madison Feehery, and Madelyn Christman finishing with a 1:42.00. The men did the same, with Bryce Ortanes, Parker Macy, Max Myers, and Chris Guiliano finishing first in a 1:29.90. 

Victory continued as the Irish swept the first three spots in the Women’s 1000 Freestyle, with Sophia Karras finishing with a 10:07.93. Josh Brown claimed a victory for the men in 9:22.33. Mary Cate Pruitt emerged victorious for the women in the 200 Freestyle with a time of 1:50.54, with Liam Smith for the men in a 1:37.37.  

Christman got her second victory of the day in the women’s 100 back in a time of 55.00. Cason Wilburn won it for the men in a 48.39. Sarah Nicholls (1:02.89) and Josh Bottelberghe (52.61) were both victorious in the 100 breaststroke, helping to keep the momentum going. Allison Kopac won the Women’s 200 Butterfly in a 2:03.59, making it her first win of the meet. Smith got his second win of the day, clocking in at 1:50.50 in the Men’s 200 Butterfly. 

Megan Deuel (23.77) claimed the 50 Freestyle for the women, with Luke Uttley picking up a win for the men in both the 50 Freestyle (20.43) and 100 Freestyle (44.47). Peyton D’Emanuele won the Women’s 100 Free in a 51.27 – also her first win of the meet. Deuel was back at it again, this time winning the 200 Backstroke in a 1:59.38. Nicholas Chase followed, contributing another victory for the men in a 1:49.82. Meaghan Lyons won the Women’s 200 Breastroke, clocking in at 2:18.24. The Irish did not claim victory in the Men’s 200 Breaststroke. 

Moving on to distance, Sydney Whiting (5:05.60) and Liam Smith (4:26.36) picked up wins for both Women’s and Men’s 500 Freestyle. Rhianna Hensler won the Women’s 100 Butterfly in a 55.46, and Bottelberghe with a 48.39 to win for the men and round out his day. Sydney Whitters (2:03.67) and Wilburn (1:49.73) captured the 200 IM. 

The quartets of Christman, Feehery, Quinn Scannell, and D’Emanuele (3:29.37) for the women, and Uttley, Alec DeLong, Guiliano, and Andrew Guziec (3:01.08) for the men, claimed wins in the 400 Medley Relay. Ellie Jew (4:29.36) and Tyler Christianson (3:48.01) finished off the meet with wins in the 400 IM.


About Observer Sports Staff

Contact Observer